Leadership Development Through Community Service

Aloha 2009

Open your eyes, Janice! It's not a dream. You're our newest ambassador! Congratulations!

Hawaii Jaycees Bids Farewell to 2009 with its Year-End Convention and Three Outstanding Young Persons Award Presentation
What began with doubt turned into the perfect ending for a wild year as RPJ hosted a well-attended and well-received Hawaii Jaycees Year-End Convention and Three Outstanding Young Persons (TOYP) Awards Presentation. The events kicked off with a Friday Night Social at Bar 7, followed by competitions and training workshops the next day at the Dole Cannery. Nearly 70 people attended the workshops, which featured small business advisors from SCORE, Pam Chambers, Hawai‘i’s Presentation Coach, and Ed Hasegawa, a Hawaii Jaycees legend.
The nearly 120 attendees of Saturday night’s gala banquet saw KHON weather anchor Justin Cruz, singer Jordan Segundo and engineer John Katahira named the Hawaii Jaycees Three Outstanding Young Persons Award winners. State Senator Brickwood Galuteria delivered the keynote address, who then handed Hawaii Jaycees State President Bobby Agpaoa and TOYP project manager Rebecca Soon a framed proclamation from the Hawaii Senate regarding the importance of the TOYP program. The festivities continued with the year-end awards (see full list of RPJ’s winners below), the final Parade of Chapters ranking (RPJ finished fourth; top spot to the Honolulu Chinese Jaycees!), and speeches from outgoing President Agpaoa and incoming President Stan Fichtman. RPJ’s Janice Suzuki was also presented with an ambassadorship for her highly-commendable service and tireless efforts over the years. The party extended well into early Sunday morning with a Banzai Party at the Executive Center, and the convention wrapped up with the first state Board of Directors meeting of 2010 (congrats to new state Membership VP Eve Epitome). Mahalo to convention sponsors Kaeo R+D and So Chic, whose generous donations helped RPJ and the Hawaii Jaycees properly bid aloha to 2009.

RPJ’s Year-End Award Winners

Outstanding Chapter President, Allen Watkins Award:  Eve Epitome
***Competing Nationally for Outstanding Local Chapter President***
Outstanding Executive Vice President: Winston Chow

Write-Up Champion: Shelby Taguma
***Competing Nationally***
Debate Champions: RPJ – Kekoa McCllenan, Grant Mizuno, and Shelby Taguma
Alternates: Roger Gummeran and Jeremy Yamamoto
***Competing Nationally***
Outstanding Community Development Projects of the Year
Spikes for Tykes: Elvin Berzabal (FUNDRAISER)
Special Olympics: Shelby Taguma (YOUTH)

***The winners of Year-end convention will go up to compete in Nationals at New Orleans, Louisiana in June!***